Oregon Poet Laureate | Paulann Petersen


Oregon Poet Laureate

The position of Oregon Poet was established by the governor of Oregon in April 23, 1923 and adopted by the Oregon Legislature in 1989 (Laws, 1989, Chap. 122, Sec. 1,2,3; Statutes, 1994 Supplement, Sec. 357.925). The first laureate was Edwin Markham. The position began as a lifetime appointment, then was changed to a four-year year term. In 2006, Lawson Inada was named to a two-year appointment by Governor Ted Kulongoski. Subsequent appointments are for a term of two years (renewable after the first year). Mr. Inada served in the office from 2006 – 2010. Paulann Petersen was named Oregon's sixth Poet Laureate April 26, 2010.

Previous Laureates:
Edwin Markham (April 23, 1923-1931)
Ben Hur Lampman (February 20, 1951-1954)
Ethel Romig Fuller (1957-1965)
William Stafford (October 1975-1990)
Lawson Fusao Inada (February 17, 2006-2010)

From the Library of Congress Main Reading Room, http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/poets/oregon.html.


Links to Related Information

Oregon Poet Laureate
Oregon Cultural Trust's official site for the office of Oregon Poet Laureate. You can also follow updates for orpoetlaureate on Twitter and posts for Oregon Poet Laureate on Facebook.
Paulann Petersen Named Oregon's Sixth Poet Laureate: Oregon Arts Commisssion
Oregon Arts Commission's news article with more information about the appointment and Paulann Petersen's poetry.
Oregon's poet laureates: A sample of their work, a bit about their lives
News article including historical information about Oregon's past Poet Laureates and samples of their work.
One Portlander, many pens: the gentle provocations of Oregon's new poet laureate
Editorial on the mission of a poet laureate and Paulann Petersen's approaches to sharing and teaching writing.
Oregon Cultural Trust
Supporting over 1,200 arts, heritage, and humanities organizations across Oregon.
Oregon Arts Commission
Established in 1967 to foster the arts in Oregon and ensure their excellence.